A Star Is Born Reviews

Page 1 of 135
½ February 17, 2019
Best movie I have seen this year. probable Best Picture Nominee and see a nomination for Bradley Cooper as Best Actor and possibly Lady Gaga for Best Actress. Will surely win an award or two for the music. Lady Gaga's work as a singer songwriter was surprisingly good. Bradley Cooper held his own. Well done.
February 17, 2019
The best part of this movie is Lady Gaga, without her it'd be a disappointment
½ February 17, 2019
After reading the hype this film is completely overrated. Bad dialogue and cheesy at times. Got bored and lost interest, how this won nominations i'll never know.
½ February 17, 2019
If you like shows like X-Factor, you'll probably love this film. If you don't, you won't.
February 17, 2019
Sorry, but I am at a total loss to understand why so many people have rave about this film - watching it was just plain hard work. A Bradley Cooper vanity project in which you are subjected to two hours of the man playing an alcoholic, mumbling mostly incomprehensible dialogue and running his hand through his greasy hair. I would agree that he did it well, but the performance offered nothing new. Lady Gaga, on the other hand, gave a very watchable and believable performance in her supporting role and I would have liked to have seen, and heard, a lot more of her!
½ February 17, 2019
A Star Is Born is the third time this movie has been reprised but this time directed and acted by Bradley Cooper with the up and coming star Lady Gaga. The chemistry between the two was unbelievable and the storyline started out strong and predictable, but overall I felt I was watching a concert instead of a movie with a plot. I like Lady Gaga as an actress instead of an artist and her beauty inside and out poured out on the big screen. It was a good movie with great acting but not Oscar worthy. The supporting cast included Andrew Dice Clay as GagaÔ(TM)s father as well as Eddie Griffin, Dave Chappelle, and Sam Elliott. The main message of the movie was donÔ(TM)t lose your inner voice and to believe in yourself. This was a tear jerker with great music written by Bradley Cooper, I sure hope he gets to win something for this movie he sure deserves it.
½ February 16, 2019
No need for him to die, ruins the whole movie, 5 star until he dies turning it into a 0 star film.
February 16, 2019
This film is absolutely incredible. The raw emotion between the two characters is so life like it´┐ 1/2(TM)s crazy. Gaga´┐ 1/2(TM)s vocal ability is obviously excellent and her acting was also very top notch! Bradley Cooper was absolutely FANTASTIC at his role of Jackson Maine - one of the beat actors I have seen on screen.
February 16, 2019
It's very fantastic!
½ February 15, 2019
A beautiful, an honestly heartbreaking film that shows us a glimpse into the musical world.

In "A Star Is Born," Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga fuse their considerable talents to depict the raw and passionate tale of Jack and Ally, two artistic souls coming together, on stage and in life. Theirs is a complex journey through the beauty and the heartbreak of a relationship struggling to survive. In this new take on the iconic love story, four-time Oscar nominee Cooper ("American Sniper," "American Hustle," "Silver Linings Playbook"), makes his directorial debut, and also stars alongside multiple award-winning, Oscar-nominated music superstar Gaga in her first leading role in a major motion picture. Cooper portrays seasoned musician Jackson Maine, who discovers and falls in love with struggling artist Ally. She has given up on her dream to become a successful singer, until she meets Jack, who immediately sees her natural talent.

I'll be completely honest. When I first saw this trailer, I thought it was a biopic for Lady Gaga...and then, being a film student, I realized this is like the fourth adaptation of this story. Anyways, I watched "A Star is Born" about two weeks ago and like the growing trend of my life, I was totally late on it. I'm also late on writing about it, as per usual.

Bradley Cooper absolutely nailed this, not only with his performance but his directing too. On top of that, who knew Lady Gaga would be able to do something like this? I certainly didn't, but it changed my entire perspective on her. She's know an Oscar nominated actress for fuck's sake. On top of all of that, everyone really gave strong performances. That's credit to the actors and Cooper for bringing that all to the table.

The story feels simple enough but it gives us something we don't see a ton of nowadays - the fall of a renowned musician due to drugs and alcohol. We hear about it quite often, in the past and even nowadays, but I haven't seen a ton of it. I feel like this is a close up look into a musician who had a lot, and lost it. It shows how those substances affected him rather than using it as a plot device - like most filmmakers due. It was hard and emotional to watch, but it certainly made for a good film.

The music was phenomenal, the sound design was strong, everything about the sound was great. It felt like I was at a real life concert because those scenes were filmed so well. The editing was good, the pacing felt right, everything just came together so naturally. It was a story I felt attached to and there's plenty of reason to like it.

In the end, "A Star is Born" is a wonderful film and certainly one of the highlights of last year.
February 15, 2019
Not all remakes are bad, and this movie proves it by far. Bradley Cooper does his debut as a director in this fantastical movie (with an awesome result) and also gives us the incredible acting of Lady Gaga, who leaves her comfort zone to perform a modest girl that dreams with becoming a professional singer. The acting of both of the main characters made me feel in my own skin all the emotions they were experimenting: love, pain, confusion and betrayal. The multiple nominations to the Oscars support me.

In addition, the way that Bradley Cooper decides to tell us this love story is very original because you don't get bored, even if you don't like romance. The script is surprising and a very good bet to this time: in a world with billboards full of action and sci-fi movies, this love/musical story represents a refreshing change.

And finally, one of the things that makes this movie a real success it's the soundtrack. There are performances full of energy, colors and really good voices interpreting powerful songs that makes you want to listen it again and again. In conclusion, this is one of the best movies I've ever seen in my life.
February 15, 2019
A star is born is a fantastic remake of the original 1939 movie.
First of all the cast for this adaptation made a terrific roll. Stars Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper had so much chemistry that really made us the viewers believe there love was real. They made things work so good on film, I mean there scenes together where magical. I really got traped by there story since the first scene of the two to last one. The director couldn't have chosen better actors.
In second place I think that the way the director tooked the script and made fit it in with the time period we live in was fantastic. He couldn't have made better work. The way the script made things roll in the film was just really amazing. It made us the viewers feel every scene so real.

And lastly, but not least important, I want to really mention the director, how I truly believe deserves a big hand applause for all the hard work made to give us a breathtaking film, which I believe will pass on in history as a masterpiece. I may say William A. Wellman made 2018┬┤s best romantic movie.
February 15, 2019
A Star is Born is boasted by great performances from Cooper and Gaga, eye candy, and neat songs, that makes up for itÔ(TM)s flaws
February 15, 2019
tears. It took me one scene to get into Ally's POV! This movie is just perfect: the acting, the music, you name it. Can't wait to watch it again when is out on October 5.lhh
½ February 15, 2019
The only slight detraction is Lady Gaga's performance in some of the more emotional scenes.
February 15, 2019
Good movie, def. A tear jerker. That at the end had me oh man...
½ February 14, 2019
Just another musical.
February 14, 2019
Ha nacido una estrella [2018]
February 14, 2019
Just try to compare this to ´┐ 1/2 1/2~walk the line´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM) . Bradley cooper may be able to pull off acting but ´┐ 1/2 1/2lady gags´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? can not. When she talks about her nose being called too big in the movie she is also referring to real life. And if you think she hasn´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t had surgery many times you are mistaken. Sure she can sing but her voice should be left backstage. And Bradley Cooperer, minus being in the hangover, can date 21 year old super models, so let´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s leave him to that. Can´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t believe this is academy award nominee worthy.
February 13, 2019
A Star Is Born is an incredible movie. It is the best of all of the remakes as well as the original. The on screen relationship between Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga is incredibly wonderful. They truly have chemistry that made the movie such a beautiful wonder. This beautifully directed and written movie , As well as acting makes you fall in love with the storyline, the characters, And the extraordinary romance with such a great musical performance by both actors. This movie is a modern-era classic. I believe it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s impact will be definite. It defines the times we are all living in, it is in my opinion a timeless and touches Has the ability to Reach generations, I have watched it with My 15-year-old nephew, I am 36 years old and I have watched it with my 67-year-old mother. All three of us took something from that movie and it touched us all. It made us feel like we could all have the common understanding of what this beautiful movie Was able to convey to all of us. I loved this and love this movie
Page 1 of 135